On the occasion of the 5th anniversary celebration of the Sackler Center for Feminist Art the Brooklyn Museum is hosting its first "Firsts" Awards. These are a series of awards celebrating the achievements of 15 women who were firsts in their fields.

Award presenters Gloria Steinem, and Elizabeth Sackler with artist Judy Chicago

The firsts of the firsts are:

  • Linda Nochlin, novelist  
  • Toni Morrison, collector and patron  
  • Wilhelmina Holladay, and former associate justice of the Supreme Court  
  • Sandra Day O’Connor 
  • Marin Alsop, Baltimore Orchestra music director   
  •  Connie Chung, journalist
  • Johnnetta B. Cole,  Spelman College president
  • Judith Rodin, the first woman president of an Ivy League university and of the Rockefeller Foundation
  • Muriel Siebert, the first woman with a seat on the New York Stock Exchange
  • Susan Stroman, the first choreographer commissioned by the NYC Ballet to create a full-length piece 
  • Faye Wattleton, the first female president and CEO of Planned Parenthood 
  • Sandy Lerner, Cisco Systems founder
  • Lucy R. Lippard, seminal feminist art historian
  • Wilma Mankiller, the first female chief of a Native American nation (posthumous)
  • Jessye Norman,  Kennedy Center honoree

For more info on the award visit:  ART INFO or Brooklyn Museum's Elizabeth A. Sackler Center for Feminist Art